VNXe 3150 OE Upgrade Process

The VNXe 3150 is a tidy little array that packs quite a punch, and I’m happy that I have access to one.

Image

It handles my CIFS and NFS storage as well as running a small vSphere VM load. I’m running my VMs over NFS as that’s what I work with in vLab and want a similar setup as a playground.

I handle all the management over it and try to keep up with the OE Upgrades. I saw an internal post recently looking for info on the OE upgrade steps and remembered I had taken some screen shots during my last upgrade. So for your reading pleasure let’s take a stroll through the process.

  1. Locating the latest release, or older releases for that matter couldn’t be easier. Pull up your favorite inter webs browser and point it at support.emc.com. Login with your credentials, you do have an account right? Select your product, and then click the Download section. You’ll see a list of all the great stuff available for that product, VNXe in our case, and select it to start the download to an appropriate location. I’ve just saved mine to the Download directory on the Server I use for management: Image
  2. Next I’ll point my browser to the Unisphere address of my VNXe and login. Navigate into ‘Settings->More configuration…->Update Software’. This is also where you can connect to download updates using ‘Obtain Candidate Version Online’ option in the lower left. I like browsing through the Support Download area just to see if there is something I missed…LOOK! Squirrel! :Image
  3. You’ll want to run a Health Check to make sure things are in good order, and Unisphere will let you know if not. Click on ‘Perform Health Check’ and then ‘Run’:Image
  4. If you come up a winner now you can upload the update, if not…fix that thing!
    Head back over to Support or ECN Forums and get some help if needed. Once you’re in the winners circle, click on ‘Upload Candidate Version’: Image
  5. It shouldn’t take too long and you’ll have the latest and greatest ready to go: Image
  6. Once uploaded the system checks the file integrity: Image
  7. Then lets you know things are in place: Image
  8. Clicking ‘Install Candidate Version’, and I know you want to, will bring up this handy little reminder, and you should follow the advice given: Image
  9. Now I would normally due this over a weekend, after backups completed, or during some other low usage window, but since I was taking some screen shots I ran this during the day with most of my VM’s suspended.
    **Read the Guides. Make sure you have good backups. Low or no I/O on the array and the Health Check was run without errors reported. And you have enough free space to run the upgrade. Read the Guides**
    Now we are ready to click ‘Install’ and watch the progress: Image
  10. In the Dual SP arrays the Peer SP gets the update applied first, and rebooted. Anything running on the Peer SP gets failed over to the Master SP, this is one reason you don’t want a load running when upgrading as you’ll see degraded performance: Image
  11. Once the Peer SP comes back up, the upgrade gets finalized, and the Master SP load moves to the Peer SP so the Master gets a turn for the upgrade reboot:Image
  12. Once the Master SP is back online and the load is shifted back to your original config the upgrade is complete! Woo Hoo! You’ll have to logout and back in to load the changes in Unisphere: Image
  13. Once logged back in you’ll see any changes in Unisphere, if there are new features that you are licensed for they will be available for use and nows a good time to check them out before you get busy… Image

I hope that was helpful, and maybe took away some of the intimidation of performing the upgrade. I can’t stress enough to read the guides, and check out the ECN Forums to post any questions or read what others have already posted…LOOK! Squirrel!

17 thoughts on “VNXe 3150 OE Upgrade Process

  1. You forgot to include “Get really nervous when it sits here for hours looking like it’s doing nothing.” on step 10. Seems like the last two or three of these that I’ve updated to 2.4 have hung there for at least an hour, usually on new deployments without anything configured or connected. After a while it finishes but not before I contemplate having to go do a recovery on it.

    • I have seen them take a scary long time too. The previous upgrade to this one, fresh outta da box, took a good bit of time.

      I don’t think I’ve had one take much more than an hour though…might be a good Discussion/Poll over on ECN.

      Thanks for the Comment with your experience on the topic!

  2. Have you done any blogs regarding the steps to configure permissions once the CIFS share was setup? Seems to be missing something in the documentation, or maybe I just can’t see it, Thoughts?

    • I haven’t posted anything on CIFS permissions, but if there is some question on how to do it in general, I’d be happy to share.

      If there is a pressing need to get it setup quickly, you’ll find the ECN site (EMC Community Network) to be most responsive. Have a look at: https://community.emc.com

    • Just to clarify, are you referring to a Stand-alone CIFS Server Share or in a Windows AD Domain?

      Stand-alone VNXe CIFS Shared Folder Server
      A stand-alone CIFS Shared Folder Servers does not have access to a Windows domain or its associates services. Only users with local user accounts created and managed on the stand-alone CIFS Shared Folder Server can access the server, and the CIFS server performs used authentication.
      A stand-alone CIFS Shared Folder Server requires a Windows workgroup.

      VNXe CIFS Shared Folder Server in a Windows Active Directory domain
      A CIFS Shared Folder Server with Active Directory enabled:
      ◆ Uses domain-based Kerberos authentication
      ◆ Maintains its own identity (computer account) in the domain
      ◆ Leverages domain site information to locate services, such as domain controllers.
      Associating a CIFS Shared Folder Server with a Windows domain allows any users in the domain to connect to the CIFS server. In addition, authentication and authorization settings maintained on the Active Directory server apply to the files and folders on the CIFS Shared Folder.
      A CIFS Shared Folder Server with Active Directory enabled requires a Windows domain with an Active Directory (AD) server and a DNS server.

      • Hello. Thank you for your response. I am referring to a Windows Active Directory domain. I have been able to authenticate to the domain from within the VNXE network settings. However, the next step to have the shared folder handle NTFS style permissions is the step I am missing. I have found the VNXE in the domain and have linked into it, however; I still don’t have the option to include any domain related resources when it comes to security. Thoughts?

      • Hello. I just wanted to check in and see if you’ve had a chance to throw something together, hitting road blocks on making this useable due to permissions. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

      • Thanks, looked at the videos, I can access the shares via Computer Management, the issue is I cannot assign any domain related groups or users as my only option is to choose from the VNXE itself. In other words, if I go to add users, they must already been designated within the VNXE as I cannot see the domain or the domain users, just the VNXE for the location. Thanks.

  3. Ok, think this might be the issue, so maybe you have an idea. Though I have the domain configured under VNXe/Settings/More Configuration/Manage Administration/Directory Services and can see the domain admins group, administrator user, etc for the domain when I do the manage administrators, it’s under the VNXe/Settings/Shared Folder Server Settings/View and modify shared folder server details that I can see NFS – Enabled and CIFS – Enabled (Standalone). according to the documents, isn’t the CIFS supposed to be shared and not standalone to be able to see the domain groups/users? Thanks.

    • Yes, you need to be in the Domain…look at the properties of the SFS(Shared Folder Server) under settings and make sure it is connected to the Domain. You’ll have use credentials that allow you to add computer accounts to AD if it is not already added.

      • That’s the problem, I dropped the CIFS Share and re-added and now it does say CIFS (Active Directory), very strange, but now it appears to be working. Sorry for all the questions, just been a headache to get this going, but one step down, now onto the iSCSI connection to XenServer. 😉 Thanks for your help.

Leave a Reply

