Spring is coming and so are changes…

I’m really fired up about an exciting change in my career and the opportunities and challenges ahead. I’ve been lucky to have worked with an amazing group over the past 19 months as we re-orged, renamed, went through acquisition transition, and re-orged again…all while maintaining focus and productivity as a group. #DoYourJob definitely applied! However, just before Christmas, an opportunity came up to join a new team, around a new product, that was just starting up. Like all of my past teams, there was a great leader already in place, and the chance to work on something new was too hard to not try for.

“Try”, what do I mean by that? Well, it wasn’t a given that I’d be a fit for the role. A good match for sure, which got my name in the hat, however, building a team is a process of looking at the individual pieces to see if they fit together. So after several interviews, and a hastily thrown together PPT to show my understanding of the platform and keys to its success, I waited. It was a tough few weeks of waiting, and HR could certainly use a little Agile added to their process. A call finally came from HR, to make sure I was eligible for the position, and then emails with the typical ‘fill out the form’ links, however there was still no ‘Congrats, you’re in’ call or email. Then a few weeks later an automated message to fill out a form, followed by a call from the Team Leader that I’d been hoping for!

So this week my next new adventure starts as part of Dell EMC’s Microsoft Hybrid Cloud Team, in the role of Applications Architect for Azure Stack, and I couldn’t be more excited! I’m looking forward to the opportunity to meet and work with an amazing group, and the challenges of getting something new off the Launchpad. I use the word Launchpad emphatically, as given what I have learned of the Roadmap, I’ve agreed to strap myself to a rocket! 🚀

rocket-final

Love this GIF? Check out Joe Ski on Dribble!

One thought on “Spring is coming and so are changes…

Leave a comment